Cake Tales: Delightful Cynthia

After one phone call enquiry, I knew that  I’d get on famously with a bride-to-be called Cynthia.  In fact the cake consultation was more like a girly evening in with an old friend.  If I remember correctly, Cynthia was off to Ascot the next day, so we talked shoes, hats and geles and of course…cake.  Cynthia tasted the banana cake, vanilla sponge with vanilla buttercream and fell in love with my lemon drizzle cake (Cynthia’s are very particular and this Cynthia was pleased with the fact that I used fair-trade ingredients). 

The wedding was set for late August and was going to be a traditionally English affair with West African accents.  The bridesmaids dresses were specially designed fusing an African print with western styling. It was going to be a truly colourful affair.

Cynthia already had a cake design in mind.  A simple three-tiered cake with roses cascading down the side of the cake; but which type of roses.  We toyed with sugar roses, silk roses and even real roses (you have to be very careful about inserting flower stems into cakes), but these options just didn’t seem to fit the vision, until I stumbled upon some edible crystallised roses.  Another call to Cynthia and a few emails later and we were convinced this was the perfect combination. 

As for the flavour, after consulting with the groom (who was a keen banana cake fan), Cynthia  persuaded Nelson that the lemon drizzle  had the winning vote.  The couple decided on a multi-flavoured cake; one tier of vanilla sponge with vanilla buttercream and two tiers of lemon drizzle with lemon curd (a perfect choice for a Summer wedding).

The evening before the wedding, the cake was complete.  I stood back and glanced at the cake and something wasn’t quite right.  The cake looked good, but it didn’t have that wow factor for me.  My husband is the true Creative Director for the business, so I called for him to cast his artistic (read as ‘critical’) eye at my creation (remember, this cake was for a Cynthia, it had to be perfect).  He took one look at the cake and said ‘it needs another tier’…So that’s exactly what I did,  I made a fourth tier on top of the cake for added drama. When my cakes leave the Delights Kitchen, I want to be 100% satisfied that I have done the best job possible and that my customers are delighted with their  cakes.

 On the morning of the wedding we bravely drove to Cynthia’s wedding venue, at a leafy village just outside London to set up the cake.  On the way I prayed that the delicate crystallised roses would make the journey.  We arrived in good time and the cake was intact.  I set up the cake at the cake table and decorated the table with rose petals.  I left a set of instructions for the cutting of the cake with the wedding planner and headed back to London.

 It was quiet strange not emailing or speaking to Cynthia after the wedding. I’d got quite used to our chats about the arrangements and plans for her day. It was always such a pleasure talking to her.

 Two weeks later I was sent this lovely email with some fabulous pics:

Delightful Cynthia

 

Cynthia and Nelson - sealed with a kiss

 

s

The Crystalised Rose Wedding Cake

 

 

 

 

 

Hello Cynthia,

I just wanted to say thank you so much for everything. I cannot put it enough into words. The cake was fabulous! But you were so kind with all the help and advice. It was a real pleasure having you being part of our day and I am so thankful I found you.

I shall certainly be recommending you to all my friends and contacts – so many people have asked about the cake lady 🙂 And who knows, maybe next year I will be getting back in contact for a christening cake 😉

All the best

 Cynthia Mufu

Cynthia and Nelson cutting their cake

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Design, Flavour, Wedding, Wedding Cake. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

