Cake Tales: The future’s bright

Orange

 

I’m a child of the ‘70’s, you’ll hear plenty about this in later blog posts.  I grew up with a mother who spent summers in the ‘70’s floating around in kaftans and wearing doughnut shoes.  We had an orange kitchen, which she insisted wasn’t orange at all, but ‘cantaloupe’. 

A while back I got asked to make a cake for a 10 year old girl and it was so refreshing to hear that she didn’t want a pink cake, but an orange one.  She wasn’t fussed about the type of cake or decoration, she just had to have an orange cake.

I made this Rich Chocolate Cake and created the perfect shade of orange sugarpaste to cover the cake.  It got me thinking about the retro revival with all those handbags, accessories and feature walls with orange and chocolate brown wallpaper and this inspired the decoration of the cake.  

Wallpaper from the seventies

 

Orange and Chocolate Blossom Cake

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business called Delights by Cynthia. I blog about cakes, treats and all things sweet.
This entry was posted in Birthday Cake, Chocolate, Colour, Design. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment