Bake of Day

There’s nothing better than a bit of early morning baking, for me.  I don’t do it everyday, but when I do, it is utter bliss.  It’s just me, my ingredients and the joy of being alone in the Delights Kitchen.  I enjoy the silence and the odd whir of the mixer and the hum of the oven.  While I’m waiting for my cakes to rise, I can put together my to-do list for the day (which is usually an overspill of what I couldn’t finish off the day before).  Occasionally, when I look out the window, I see the Urban Fox (as I’ve started to call him), sniffing and mooching around.  I’m sure he’s drawn in by the delicious smells coming from my kitchen. 

If I come down to the kitchen at 5am, I can usually get a batch of cakes baked and out of the oven for 7am.  It’s at this moment the silence is broken by footsteps of a teeny tiny person who hopes to bribe me with a good-morning kiss in return for cake.  It must be a wonderful thing to be in that half-asleep-half-awake state and all you can smell is cake.  Good morning to you all.

Eggs in a bowl

Eggs in a bowl

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

