Spring has sprung!

I was born on the first day of spring (21st March). I’ve yet to have a birthday that wasn’t bright and fresh with a hint of sun.   I always look forward to the clocks going forward, brighter days and lighter coats.  Spring is all about newness, things coming to life and hope.

Whenever I think of spring, I think of daffodils.  They’re bright, they’re fun, and they spring up once a year.  They don’t cost a fortune, but they just cheer you up (I’ve got a bunch at my desk at the moment).

It’s not too difficult to work out which colours remind me of spring, ellow and leaf green.  Green because of all the things in nature that are springing to life, and yellow because it is a colour symbolising joy, and optimism.  When you see yellow, you cannot help but think (hope and pray) about forthcoming sunshine.

Here’s some of my cakes inspired by spring.

Spring Daisy Cake - for a little girl who loves 'flowers' and 'yellow'.

 

Daisy Mini Cake as a sample for a bridal shower

 

In terms of flavours, there are only two flavours which remind me of spring.  Lemon flavour for its freshness and fragrance (which is probably why there are so many cleaning products with ‘the freshness of lemon’ in them).  Also honey reminds me of spring.  Translating this into cake is easy.  Honey cake with Honey Buttercream and Lemon Drizzle Cake, either sandwiched with Lemon Curd or Lemon Buttercream.

Lemon Drizzle Cupcakes with Lemon Buttercream.

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Baking, Buttercream, Cakes, Colour, Daughters, Jemimah and Phoebe, Spring. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring has sprung!

  1. Pingback: Spring forward | She flourishes

Leave a Reply

