Camping it up

Indulge me again as I talk about being a child of the ‘70’s again.

I remember the summer of ’76, sitting on the doorstep and being allowed to ‘play out’. I was into clogs, bell-bottoms and Tiny Tears. I’d joined the Brownies and my sister can vouch that I was pretty annoying, back then.

You’ll laugh, but the thing I always associate the most with the ‘70’s is Camp!…No, I’m not talking about feathers, glitter and lashings of Spandex, I’m talking about a coffee and chicory essence that has been made since 1876. You can use Camp to make hot and cold coffee drinks. My Dad used to buy bottles of Camp, and one of my fondest memories of the summer of ‘76 was drinking glasses (or more likely, plastic beakers) of Iced Coffee (this was way before the Frappuccino, baby).

Camp is a British icon of nostalgia and I’m sure I’m not the only person who has fond childhood memories of Camp.

Coffee Cake is another ‘70’s classic. You couldn’t have a Coffee Morning without Margery (Margo, Beverley or Fay’s) homemade Coffee Cake, and they were probably using Camp to flavour their homemade creations.

I must be getting nostalgic in my old age, but about a week ago, for some strange reason I have been craving Coffee Cake. I bought some Camp had to explain to my daughter what it was and how you use it. I had my own little Campfest.

Chocolate Cupcakes, Coffee Buttercream topped with Amaretti Biscuits

I made some Chocolate Cupcakes with Coffee Buttercream and Amaretto Biscuits. I made Mocha Buttercream, which I used in a Chocolate Cake and then I made Coffee Cake….

Moist, dark, delicate sponge with a light, fluffy, caramel coloured, coffee-flavoured buttercream….Any guesses what I had to drink?

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Baking, Buttercream, Cakes, Cupcakes, Flavour, The '70's and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

