Making it Big

I’ve been factoring in some down-time, away from the Delights Kitchen, recently.  I’ve used the time to catch up on some reading.  Yes, I read the paper, I read tweets and I read recipes, but I can’t remember the last time I did a bit of indulgent reading and got totally lost in a book.

I had so much fun reading Making it Big by Lyndsay Russell, possibly because I could relate only too well with the leading character Sharon Plunkett. Like Sharon, I too have tried every diet possibly known to man.  Sharon’s last resort is to visit Dr Marvel’s Weight Clinic where her whole world literally turns upside down.  Suddenly big is beautiful and billboards celebrate plus sized celebrities.  Sharon is suddenly adored for her curvaceous body and stunning looks ( I guarantee that every big girl has had this fantasy).  Sharon  becomes supermodel and trend setting icon.  She dates a footballer, a rock god and a Hollywood A –lister.  Her world couldn’t be any more wonderful…until it all goes terribly wrong.

Delights by Cynthia Cupcakes

I loved the fact that fairy cakes (not cupcakes) feature heavily in this tale, with all manner of sweet delights getting a mention too. This was such an enjoyable book (I devoured it), and it had me laughing out loud.

I’ve never been one for joining a book club, but I’d love to get a group of girls together to talk about some of the issues raised in this book. I’ll supply the cakes, we’ll order in some cava.  Class discuss.  Who’s in?

A nice glass of bubbly...

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in body, Book, Cakes, Celebrity, Cupcakes, size and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making it Big

  1. Oh wow, thanks for this! & EXCELLENT IDEA!!
    It’s the author, Lyndsay here… Indeed, I used the term fairy cakes because I think these kind of cakes are truly magical! I remember making them with my Auntie Betty when I was 6 years old – and since then I have always found the combo of creamy butter icing and sprinkly decorations totally irresistible!
    If you get the book club together (or book clubs) I’d be very happy to come along after to discuss, or at least talk about it on the phone if the group is not local. (I’m in Kingston Upon Thames) What a fab idea, fairy cakes, cava and books! I’M IN!!! xxx

Leave a Reply

