Vintage Photo Opportunity

If you don’t know already, I love weddings, but I love anniversaries even more.  When I get to create an anniversary cake for a couple who have been married longer than I’ve been alive, I’m beside myself.

Nicky contacted me and asked if I could make an anniversary cake for her parents who were celebrating their golden wedding anniversary with a party.  We toyed with a couple of ideas and decided to opt for a vanilla sponge with vanilla buttercream and raspberry jam photo cake; a cake topped with an edible print of her parents’ wedding photo.

Now photo cakes can be a bit hit or miss, especially wedding photos; I’m not sure how cool a cake with a picture of an eighties, nineties or noughties wedding would look, but there was something gorgeously vintage about wedding photos from the forties, fifties and sixties; this one especially…We’ll park the seventies to one side, for the moment.

The majority of the wedding photo cakes I make are ordered by the children of the couple, as a surprise. As soon as you see the photograph of the parents, you distinctly see the family connection- you recognise who has Daddy’s nose or Mummy’s eyes, it’s wonderful to see.

Nicky was delighted with the cake for her parents.  A week after the party, I received this lovely email.

Hi Cynthia
 I just wanted to let you know what a success the cake was. My mum was
 practically speechless!!!! – they loved it and it was such a fantastic
surprise for them.
 They made the cake a key feature so that as guests arrived and were
 given a glass of Champagne as they went past the cake!!!!
All of my mum’s friends were terribly impressed by it and the quality of your work.
So Thanks again.
 Nicky xxxxx

 

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Baking, Buttercream, Celebration, Children, golden, The '70's, Wedding Anniversary Cake and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

