Guilty pleasures and sweet delights

I went to a business breakfast meeting, the other morning.  I brought along some business cards, but thought I’d bring some cupcakes, so people could try out my wares.  I made some banana cupcakes with maple syrup buttercream and placed a pecan on top of each one…Wintery, warming, comforting, and not too excessive for the morning, I thought.

You never quite know who you’ll end up sitting round the table with, which is the fun element, for me, at these meetings.  I placed the cupcakes, almost like place settings, in front of each person, at the table.  Most people looked at the cupcakes,  took my card and mentioned that they would eat this later, with their lunch, as it was far too early for cake (it’s never to early for cake in the Delights Kitchen); or give their cupcake to a loved one.  However, there was one gentleman who decided not to be so virtuous and wait for lunchtime, or for a loved one.  He took the cupcake out of the container, peeled off the paper casing and devoured the cake.  I watched him across the table and he seemed to enjoy every bite.  How wonderful (well, I thought so) to discover that this man was a dentist.  I thought that I would have been chastised for plying people with sugar.   I imagined that this was a moment of guilty pleasure for him (he mentioned that he runs the dental practice with his wife, who wasn’t able to attend the meeting). 

On his way out of the meeting, I discreetly handed him my card.  He smiled and tucked the card away.  I smiled back and gave him a wry smile that signified ‘the first one’s for free’…

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Buttercream, Cupcakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guilty pleasures and sweet delights

  1. Joyce says:

    too cute! making me really want cake right now…yum!!

Leave a Reply

