Christmas Bake and Shake

Winter wonderland cake

The Delights Kitchen smells divine as I bake and decorate Christmas cakes and cupcakes, and we’re not talking about traditional fruitcake, either. I’m really getting into the Christmas spirit with some favourite Christmas tracks to bake and shake.  With all the dancing I’ve been doing, you’d think I’d been at the sherry (hic).  Here’s my festive playlist….

Boney M (It’s got to be done – I keep telling hubby that he should get a ‘fro like the lead singer).

The Ronettes –I wish I was in a sixties girl group. There, I’ve admitted it.

Barbra Streisand – We used to play the Barbra Streisand Christmas album on the 1st of December, when we were growing up…It was our little tradition.

Bruce Springsteen – Love how he belts out ‘Santa clause is coming to town’.

Audio Adrenaline – In our home, occasionally we do the ‘Bedtime bounce’.  When we play this track there is some ferocious air guitar and drumming going on (and that’s just the parents).

Judy Garland– A nice sombre tune to do those intricate bits of piping and strategically placing dragees.

Mariah Carey – I’m not a big fan, but this song is as camp as Christmas (don’t tell Mariah, but my Jemimah does a much better version).

Quincy Jones – I’m sure Handel would approve.  This is Christmas with soul…

Last but not least, there’s good old Charlie Brown.

Enjoy!

What songs are getting you in the festive mood, while in the kitchen?

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes, Christmas, Cupcakes, Dancing, Fruitcake, Kitchen, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Bake and Shake

  1. ocagnano says:

    Sad but true I have no music playing when I cook as I need to keep an eye on my son who is 21 months old. Perhaps when he’s older I’ll put music in the kitchen. For now we put a CD on or his favorite TV shows and dance together in the living room 😉

Leave a Reply

