Brownies

Here I go, harping back to my childhood…When I was a girl, I really enjoyed the Brownies.  Maybe it’s the ‘all girls together’ and ‘can do’ attitude that it inspires.

The Brownies have come a long way since I joined them.  In my day it was brown, knee-length dresses and yellow toggles.  Nowadays they’re wearing skorts, baseball caps and hoodies.

When I heard that there was going to be a new Brownie pack starting in Islington, I was thrilled and even more delighted that Jemimah, my daughter, wanted to join up. After a couple of months of faithful attendance, there were eight girls in the pack, ready to make their Brownie promise.

Brown Owl is brilliant – a real power house!  She is a retired teacher, who springs the girls into action and she doesn’t suffer fools gladly.  When she found out that I used to be a Brownie and I make fantastic cakes, there was only one thing for it…I ‘volunteered’ to make a cake for the promise keeping ceremony.

You can't get more chocolatey than a Brownie cake!

I made a rich chocolate cake, covered with chocolate fondant and decorated with the Brownie logo.

Eager to tuck into the cake...

On the evening of the promise keeping, the Brownies couldn’t wait to tuck into their cake. One by one, the girls promised to ‘do their best’ and to ‘keep the Brownie Guide law’.  There was lots of filming and flashing cameras by proud parents.  We even had a photographer from the Islington Gazette. A week later, the Brownies made it in the local paper and lapped up their celebrity almost as quickly as they had lapped up the cake!

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Bake, Brownies, Cake, Celebration, Children, Chocolate, Flavour, Guides, Islington, Jemimah and Phoebe, London, Press coverage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

