Bake the blues away

Whenever there’s a low point in my life, it has never got in the way of my baking and cake creating.  I can never be too tired or deflated to step into the Delights Kitchen and cause a stir with my Kenwood.  I can’t describe the joy (and of course) delight when I’m baking. 

So when I heard about the new book by Marian Keyes, I could relate.  Saved by Cake is an honest account of Marian Keyes’s recent battle with depression, and how baking has helped her.  As a complete novice in the kitchen, Marian decided to bake a cake for a friend and that was it – she realised that baking was what she needed to get through each day. So she baked and she wrote down her recipes, and little by little the depression started to lift and so did her sponges…

This book is for anyone who loves to bake.  It’s never patronising, honest,  and is sprinkled with a generous portion of Marian’s humour.

Even if you just curl up on the sofa and drool over the delicious images, it will certainly put a smile on your face.

I cannot wait to try out the Chestnut and Rum Brownies, the Chocolate Baklava and the Three Milks Cake (described as a hug in a cake).

Saved by Cake, £16.99 is published by Michael Joseph (Penguin).

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Bake, Baking, Cake, Cakes, Chocolate, Comfort food, Home, Kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

