Romantic Cake Tales: You’ve got mail

It all started with an email. I opened my inbox and there was an email enquiry for a cake.
“Are you able to make a cake in the shape of a traditional mail box?” My immediate thought was the traditional British post-box, but I had to be sure. An email and a few phone calls later, I realised that the customer wanted a red mailbox, similar to the kind you see in America, outside peoples’ homes.
“Do you want a message on the cake board?” I asked.
“Yes please, can you write or pipe you’ve got mail.”
“Any candles?”
I asked.
“No, just the words will be fine.”
A simple request that was easy to follow through.
As I was making and decorating the cake, curiosity got the better of me. Why the mailbox?

Post box cake
I made the cake, and included the You’ve got mail wording and added two little letters made out of fondant, as the mail box looked a little lonely.
On the evening of the cake collection, a young man came to collect the cake. “She’s going to love this,” he said. I had to ask. “What’s the story behind the mailbox cake?” The young man explained that his girlfriend was from Cyprus and she was studying in London. She was incredibly lonely and homesick. Over the last few weeks, he has been phoning and emailing her family and friends, asking them to write her letters and cards, and send them to him. Once he had picked up the cake, he was going to take his girlfriend out to dinner and then have the waiter bring out the cake, surrounded by the letters and cards, and present them to her. Well, if you don’t know what I’m like already, I’m a true romantic. I thought this was such a beautiful gesture.
The cake was packaged up, ready for its big reveal and the young man went on his way.
A couple of days later, I received this email:
“Hello Cynthia!
She loved the cake. Thank you very much for your inspiration 🙂 With your dedication and love for baking, you play a part in some very special moments in people’s lives. Thanks!” – Joao Verissimo

I love being part of such fantastic occasions, especially when there’s some romance in the air. Joao, if you decide to get married in London, you know who to come to for your wedding cake…

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Cake, Date, Design, Family, Friends, Gift, Girlfriend, letter, Letters, London, Love, lovers, Men, Real Men, Romance, Romantic, Word, Wording and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

