Sweet Mother

Mother’s Day is always a bittersweet day for me. As much as love the hugs and cuddles, the handmade cards and flowers; I still miss my mum. It’s coming up to five years since my mum passed away.
Whenever I bake a cake and use mixed spice, or nutmeg (fruitcake…Christmas cake especially), I think of my mother and her own special way of baking. Ruby enjoyed baking; maybe some of that rubbed off on me.

Traditional mixing bowl

She baked by hand, no Kitchen Aid or Kenwood for her; she used one of those big old fashioned mixing bowls with a wooden spoon. Ruby baked ‘by eye’ and ‘to the taste’. She never weighed things out. If her cake needed another egg, in it would go. If there weren’t enough sultanas to cake mixture, she’d sprinkle in some more. Ruby was old school (a dash of brandy in Mummy’s ‘recipe’ for Christmas cake, usually meant half a bottle).

Successful baking:  Every month I would receive a pack of recipes for cakes, biscuits, puddings and desserts...I still make use of these today.

Successful baking: Every month I would receive a pack of recipes for cakes, biscuits, puddings and desserts…I still make use of these today.

When I turned 21, she bought me a subscription to Successful Baking. Once a month, I would receive a pack of recipe cards for cakes, biscuits, puddings and desserts; this was Mummy’s attempt to transform me into marriage material. I still have the cards and folders. I’ve used the recipes hundreds of times and have adapted some of the recipes to make them my own.
Mother’s Day is one of the few days in the year when I actually get to put my feet up and relax with the family. I don’t bake, but my husband (Mr Delights) usually puts together a cream tea with my daughters.

Happy Mother’s Day!

If you are a mother, enjoy the day, I hope you get to be truly spoilt. If your mum’s nearby, go and see her, spend some quality time with her today. If your mum’s far away, that phone call, Facetime or Skype chat will truly make her day…Especially if it’s been a while.
If like me, your mum is no longer with you, thank God for the good times and the sweet times you had with your mother.
Ruby Sweet Mother

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Africa, Bake, Cake, Cakes, Christmas, Mother, Woman and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweet Mother

  1. Sophielondon says:

    This was a very moving article Cynthia. I did ring my mum in France today, even though the French Mother’s day is in May. She was very touched as it was unexpected!

  2. Kareen Cox says:

    Love this. Fortunately I’m able to go and see my mum who lives only ten miles away. My mum too had a bowl like your mum had. She’s a champion baker and doesn’t own a weighing scale. Wish I had the same skill but my cakes need a lot of help to improve. Happy Mothers Day to you.

Leave a Reply

