Eat cake and pray

My friend Michelle moved to New Zealand over ten years ago and I still miss her. We communicate through Facebook and there are occasional sweet tweets, but it’s not the same.

You can take the girl out of London, but you can’t take London out of the girl. I’m blessed that Michelle can’t quite keep away from London, so I get to see her every three years.

I am so proud of Michelle. She’s a great wife, mum and now a grandma. She has managed to lose heaps of weight, she’s run marathons, she can do the Plank; and she has been known to shake her booty with the best of them at any Zumba class.

Michelle came to London in 2011 and I had to see her. I wanted her to meet my daughters (it was love at first sight…at last someone had a touch-screen phone they could play with). Because Michelle had lost so much weight, I didn’t want to lead her into temptation by plying her with cakes, so I kept the cake at bay…I was so embarrassed when she arrived and mentioned that she was really looking forward to trying one of my cakes. Then I felt even worse because she had brought me a Derrick of New Zealand retro, Pavlova tea towel, which I now treasure.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Michelle came back to London a few weeks ago it was such a joy to see her. When we get together, it’s like we’ve never been apart. She just ‘gets me’. I don’t have to explain myself. We had tea, we talked; really shared what’s on our hearts, we hugged, had cupcakes and prayed for each other…and there were tears when it was time to say goodbye.

My friend Michelle...I even had purple cupcake cases to match her outfit.

My friend Michelle…I even had purple cupcake cases to match her outfit.

Unless I get a windfall, I won’t see my darling girl until 2017. In the meantime, I have a delicious memory of a sweet time in the Delights Kitchen.

Love you and miss you muchly, Michelle.

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Cake, Cupcakes, Darling, Daughters, Girlfriend, Girly Get together, London, Mother, Tea and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

