Oh Christmas tree, oh chocolate tree

Corentin Vignal at work.

Corentin Vignal at work.

Corentin Vignal is a 20 year old French chocolate and pastry maker, whose stunning chocolate work has caught my eye. At this young age, he has discovered a love and a passion to create works of art in chocolate. “After a week’s work experience in a chocolate shop, I discovered that chocolate and I make the perfect couple.”

“I am passionate about my work, being surrounded by chocolate and working with various ingredients, the flavours and creativity that involves making chocolate.”

“If you give me chocolate, it is exactly the same as if you give a brush and acrylic to a painter.”


Corentin is refining his art at Chocolaterie Panel, in Grigny, owned by sisters Géraldine and Charlotte Panel, where he makes these amazing chocolate trees. “I wanted a shape of a tree which would be modern and different,” says Corentin. The chocolate trees are available in black chocolate (from Venezuela) and in milk chocolate (from the Ivory Coast). The formation of the trees requires a lot of artistic skill and speed. “It takes me around an hour and a half to make 30 trees.”

Chocolate Christmas trees

Chocolate Christmas trees

So why work with chocolate? “Chocolate is really whimsical,” says Corentin. “Chocolate requires a specific tempering curve which is not ‘a piece of cake’ to learn. Once you handle it well, you can create and recreate to infinity. The possibilities with chocolate are endless.”

So what makes chocolate so special for Corentin? “If you give me chocolate, it is exactly the same as if you give a brush and acrylic to a painter.”

I wanted to ask whether Corentin will be serving his trees on Christmas day. “For Christmas day I leave the kitchen to my mother, to cook a Yule log cake,” says Corentin. I wonder if it is a chocolate one…

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Africa, art, Chocolate, Cocoa, Design, Flavour and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

