Baking back in time

Beero recipe book

Excuse me while I indulge in a little nostalgia…I can remember baking with my mother, or to be honest, watching her bake.  She rarely used a recipe; she tended to add her ingredients by eye and to taste.  But she did have a few recipe books in the kitchen.

Beero drop scones

 

There was a cookbook in our kitchen that was well-thumbed, contained pages with the odd spot of butter, or caked-in flour or caster sugar, and this was the Be-Ro Home Recipes Cookbook. This cookbook is a thin, rectangular book that almost seemed like a pamphlet fro the war years,filled with recipes for scones, cakes, pastries and puddings.

From this book, I learned how to bake scones with my mother, something I remember fondly, and baking scones, is something  I love to do with my daughters, now. The recipes are basic, simple store cupboard items that you already have to hand.  Some recipes and cookbooks have become so stylised and fancy-schmanzy; it’s so refreshing to go back to basics with some simple old fashioned home-baking.

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Bake, Baking, Butter, Cake, Cakes, Children, Family, Home Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baking back in time

  1. Pingback: Scone for the day | Minkyweasel World

Leave a Reply

