Cakespiration: Bake to school with cupcakes

 

20160420_094142

There’s nothing like stepping out of the Delights Kitchen, with my cupcake carrier, in order to be fired up and inspired about all things cake.  Last week I had the privilege of spending the day at a school for children with special needs.  I had promised to visit way back in November; now that I have been to the school, I wish I’d visited sooner.

I didn’t want to “do a talk”.  I think children spend a fair amount of time being ‘talked at’.  Instead, I thought it would be best to have an informal chat.  I spoke about what I do, as a cake maker and then I listened to what the children had to say.

These children were fun, vibrant, their imagination wasn’t stifled in any way; they had such a fresh approach to everything.  I will certainly take up their suggestions about:

  • New ideas for flavours and frostings
  • Customer service
  • Deliveries

Here are some of the sketches the children made for cake designs, for an animal themed cake.

20160426_200515-1.jpg

20160426_200548-1

20160426_200540-1.jpg

 

The pupils were the first to try out my new mango and passionfruit cupcakes.  I believe they were a hit.

“Can you come back to our class?” A pupil asked.  I’m certainly coming back.  But this time, we’re going to bake.

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Bake, Baking, Cake, Cake business, Cakes, Children, London, School and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

