The gentle art of procrastibaking

 

procrastibaking

Yes, I raise my hand up, as I am totally guilty of this.  In fact, this t-shirt, was probably made with me in mind.

Procrastibaking:  The art of making cupcakes instead of doing something else you should be doing.

Right now, I am knee-deep in receipts and invoices, in the Delights Office.  I need to complete my tax return by 31st January.  I have started off with the best intentions.  I get myself some coffee, I switch on the computer and I start crunching the numbers.  I neatly put everything under the right headings: Ingredients, Packaging, Postage, Cleaning Products, Equipment, Website updates and Deliveries. After about an hour of this, my mind starts to wander.  I drift off to more exciting subjects.  Being a creative type, crunching numbers and doing my tax return is incredibly boring, but it is very necessary.  As I type away and organise my receipts, my mind starts to think about other matters…

  • Decorating techniques
  • Flavour combinations
  • Themes
  • Colour combinations
  • Topping
  • Fillings
  • The fluffiness of frostings
  • Just anything to do with cake, really…

Before you know it, I am down in the Delights Kitchen, reaching for the vanilla extract, plugging in Penelope and baking up a storm.  Yesterday, I just had a yearning for plain old vanilla cake, so that’s how I got my bake-on.  I’ve got two days to complete this task and press the ‘go’ button, so I better stop procastibaking and get on with the job at hand!  I will keep you posted on how I get on….

About Delights by Cynthia

I have a cake business and love all things sweet. I also empower and encourage women to start and develop their businesses and creative projects...Basically, equipping them to pursue their passions.
This entry was posted in Bake, Baking, Cakes, Cupcakes, Flavour, Home Baking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The gentle art of procrastibaking

  1. Ha-ha! Sounds very familiar, you’re not alone!

    • Did you get your accounts done, too? I managed to press the ‘submit’ button (or should I say that my lovely Accountant pressed the ‘submit button’) on Monday 30th at around 8pm. Feeling very peaceful now.

Leave a Reply

